News & Articles Historic Acropolis Rally 2023: Gala championship Awards took place in Greece!

Elefsina, the European Capital of Culture for 2023, hosted the Gala and the European Historic Rally Championship Awards for 2023. The last round of the championship, Historic Acropolis Rally concluded earlier on Sunday near the archaeological sites of Elefsina.

After the event podium ceremony, the crews slipped into their evening finery for the gala championship awards, held at the X-Bowling art gallery in Elefsina. They were joined by the majority of category champions who jetted in from across Europe for the occasion. On hand to present the awards was John Naylor, President of the FIA Historic Motorsport Commission, who expressed his delight at the EHRC’s successes in 2023.

“The feedback from all of the crews, the teams and the event hosts has been better than ever in 2023,” he said. “The depth and quality of the cars and the standards of preparation applied has been tremendous across the board. To see these evocative cars back in competitive action on events like the Acropolis, Costa Brava, Sanremo and all of the finest historic competitions in Europe is testament to the crews, their teams, the organisers and volunteers who make the sport happen.”

Despite the fact that several of the protagonists of the European Championship did not take part in the last round in Greece, as the title in their categories was already decided by the previous rallies, they attended the Gala. One of them was Fabrizia Pons, this year’s European Champion in Category 4, who recounted moments from 1982, the year in which, alongside Michelle Mouton, she had won the 29th Rally Acropolis.

The European Rally Championship started last March from Spain with the Rally Costa Brava and ended in Greece. The championship was consisted of 9 rounds.

The winners of the European Historic Rally Championship for 2023:


  1. “Lucky” – Fabrizia Pons (Italy)
  2. Tibor Erdi jnr – Istvan Kerek (Hungary)
  3. Carlos Sampayo – Irene Serrano Granda (Spain)


  1. Karl Wagner – Gerda Zauner (Austria)
  2. Eric Guignard – David Meffre (France)
  3. Phillipe Mermet – Gerard Clerton (France)


  1. Valter Christian Jensen – Erik Pedersen (Norway)
  2. Paolo Pasutti – Giovanni Battista Campeis (Italy)
  3. Stanislav Budil – Petr Vejvoda (Czech Republic)


  1. Ernie Graham – Karen Graham (Great Britain)
  2. Antonio Parisi – Giuseppe d’Angelo (Italy)
  3. Oldrich Kovarik snr – Oldrick Kovarik jnr (Czech Republic)


1. Team Bassano (Italy)

Official website:

Facebook page:

Youtube page:


Γραφείο Τύπου