News & Articles Sporting, SS5: Pitsos extends his lead

Without showing any signs of easing their pace, Konstantinos Pitsos and Stelios Karapapazis (Ford Sierra Cosworth 4×4/E4) continued their effort to win the Sporting category of the Historic Rally Acropolis.

After winning all 3 of the morning’s Special Stages, they also conquered both of Saturday afternoon’s tests. As a result, their gap to the second crew in the overall standings has now reached 1′.47″ – under blue skies, intense heat and a large crown at the mountains of Central Greece.

Panagiotis Paradisis – Kostas Poimenidis (Ford Escort Mk2 RS/D3), who followed the leaders in the ranking of both afternoon specials, remain in second place in the general classification and the leaders in their class.

The top three of the general classification are completed by Spyros Petridis – Apostolos Pallas (Toyota Corolla AE 86/E2), who took advantage of the lost time of Alexandros Halivelakis – Athanasios Papandreou (Ford Escort MKII RS2000/D3) in the 5th special.
The only crew that retired in the afternoon leg were Angelos Zivas – Konstantinos Synetos (Toyota Corolla TE 37/C2), due to a flange problem on their engine.

Karanikolas – Kakavas extend their lead in Rally Legends
In the “Rally Legends” category, Epaminondas Karanikolas – Giorgos Kakavas (Ford Escort RS Cosworth) lead the overall standings with a time of 50:57.48, having prevailed in all five special stages of Saturday’s leg.

Second overall are Theodoros Kalamaras – Vasiliki Psarakou (Citroen Saxo VTS) more than 11 minutes behind the leaders, while the top three are completed by Ioannis Papazisis – Konstantinos Pediaditakis (Mazda 323 Familia). Kyriakos Vtoutogiannis – Yannis Katsikas (Subaru Impreza 555) are fourth overall.

Leaders by class
1. Karolos Lambrou – Yannis Kollias (Renault Alpine A110)

1. Konstantinos Pitsos – Stylianos Karapapazis (Ford Sierra Cosworth 4X4)
2. Evangelos Birlirakis – Kostas Kofinas (BMW 2002 Ti)

1. Konstantinos Argyriou – Stamatis Laskos (Toyota Corolla KE 25)

1. Dimitris Amaxopoulos – Hara Moraiti (Toyota Corolla KE 30)
2. Nikos Parapera – Konstantinos Mylonas (Toyota Celica TA 22)

1. Alexandros Christodoulou – Athanasios Samaras (VW Golf GTi

1. Panagiotis Paradisis – Kostas Poimenidis (Ford Escort MKII RS)
2. Alexandros Halivelakis – Athanasios Papageorgiou (Ford Escort MKII RS 2000)
3. George Paradisis – Michalis Frangou (Ford Escort MKII RS 2000)

1. Grigoris Pierroutsakos – Alexandros Mataliotakis (Peugeot 205 Rallye)
2. Michalis Nomikos – Konstantinos Trovas (Toyota Starlet KP 60)
3. Montecristo – Valia Markaki (Toyota Starlet KP 60)

1. Spyridon Petridis – Apostolos Pallas (Toyota Corolla AE 86))
2. Konstantinos Tzemos -Dionysis Koloturos (Toyota Corolla AE 86)
3. Georgios Kasidopoulos – Vangelis Panaritis (Toyota Starlet EP 71)

1. Konstantinos Papadimitriou – Anastasios Papadopoulos (Toyota Starlet EP 71)
2. Giorgos Chorianopoulos – Athanasios Samaras (VW Golf GTi)

1. Konstantinos Pitsos – Stylianos Karapapazis (Ford Sierra Cosworth 4X4)

1. Andreas Papageorgiou – Georgios Papageorgiou (Volvo 142 S)